Sweet potato tuna jackets with cherry toms and chilli dip

IMG_0853

When I get home from a long day at work and have just an hour to spare before needing to head back out to tennis practice, I need something super quick and easy to make for tea, but which will also give me the energy I need to run around a court after missing the majority of the balls heading my way. Tuna sweet potato jackets with a zesty lemon salad and spicy soya dip fit the bill perfectly!

I admit, I stole this recipe off what I think is one of the best websites for easy recipes – BBC Good Food. As you may know, my love for the humble and somewhat underrated sweet potato never falters, and as I suffer with eating the skin on a regular jacket potato (I’ll pay money for any reasons you can give me as to why I have this problem) I often incorporate this vegetable in my weekly meals.

I have to say, as I can’t eat normal dairy yoghurt I was a little unsure about combining the soya alternative in this dish, as I know it has a somewhat different, less zingy taste to Greek or natural yoghurt, but once mixed in with the sweet and savoury tastes on the plate, I can’t say I really noticed any difference and I thought the flavours worked perfectly.

Of course, the original recipe didn’t suggest roasting any peppers, cherry tommies or red onion but I am a massive fan of roasting anything that can be roasted as I really think it brings out extra flavours, and also, as I stuck my jacket in the oven for ten minutes to go slightly crispy, the accompanying veg was ready to come out at the same time.

Great for a quick lunch at work, a speedy home time meal or when you’re belly’s telling you it wants feeding, this is your classic snackathon supper! Oh and yes that meal was for two people, not just me *cough cough*

Ingredients

  •  Sweet potato
  • Can of tuna
  • Red onion
  • Red pepper
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • 1 red chilli
  • Lettuce
  • Cucumber
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Coriander
  • Soya yoghurt (or regular if not dairy free)
  • Oregano
  • Basil
  1. Pre-heat oven to 200 degrees Celsius
  2. Stick the sweet potato in the microwave on full power for around 10 minutes
  3. Chop up the red pepper, red onion, chilli and wash your cherry toms
  4. Place the sweet potato and a baking tray full of the veg in the oven for 10-15 minutes
  5. Whack a bit of salad on a plate, throw in some cucumber, drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar and sprinkle with basil and oregano
  6. Once crisp, cut the sweet potato in half, let the tuna meet the veg and dollop on a generous helping of the yoghurt
  7. Introduce some coriander, drizzle in some lemon or lime juice and Bob’s your uncle

Leave a comment